The Conclusion of My First Week in S.A.

Life updates, Missions

Today has seemed to be three days all in one. And so was yesterday! We’ve done so much and I’ve been too exhausted to write about it. [So please forgive me on that note :)]

Yesterday we visited an African church, which was so amazing. The completely different culture was quite a contrast to what I’m used to, but I couldn’t wipe the smile off my face, it was so amazing. They were dancing and just praising God. For people who live in extreme poverty, they sure do have an abundance of joy. We also went shopping to an outdoor mall and just enjoyed spending time together as a group.

Today we got up early and had team devotions before breakfast and after we ate we drove right to Kya Sands to start the day. The medical clinic was open today and we ministered to the people waiting to see the doctor. One of the interns, Sarah, told a story about the the woman at the well to them and afterwards we went around to meet the people, get to know them, and minister. This one lady, sitting off on her own, had caught my eye from the beginning. I was a little nervous to approach her but I did anyway. As I said hello, I realized I needed a translator. When I went to get one, he talked to her and told me there was a language barrier still.

This was a discouraging moment. I felt like someone had told me I couldn’t have kids. I was n’t discouraged or heavy-hearted, I just went to seek out another solution.

Right as we couldn’t find anyone else to help us, a woman entered the clinic who speaks the exact language this woman does, an answered un-spoken prayer. I learned that she had only caught a short part of the story because it was all she could understand. As I finished the story for her, I asked her what her favorite part was. She responded telling how she loved how Jesus told this woman everything she had done and how he forgave her. We continued to talk and prayed together, signing her up for discipleship which we help her grow even stronger!!

After lunch and taking some time to play with the kids, we went out into Kya Sands and did a kids ministry. It was so awesome! The kids jumped right in and partnered with it so well! I have a ton of pictures for you guys today. So enjoy them and I’ll see you tomorrow! We’re back to shack to shack tomorrow with discipleship in the afternoon; I’m so excited!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “The Conclusion of My First Week in S.A.

  1. I love you Ashley, we miss you but are glad you are able to minister to adults and children. So good to see your smiling face. Mom and dad are supposed to be here any moment to bring the girls and Hunter. Looking forward to spending time with them all. Love you, dear!

    Like

Leave a Reply

