Re-calculating En Route…

Challenge & Revelation

Sometimes I feel like a GPS as I acclimate to America and my new surroundings. “Re-calculating, re-calculating.” It has been a joy to experience America and all it offers with eyes wide open. Every time I have come back from missions trips I have been preparing to go on the next one. After a year and a half of ministry (including my month back home of preparing for school and fundraising) it is great to rest where no agenda wipes me out.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

The strangest thing to re-adjusting is how I remember places differently than they are now. Two years have passed and the place I once remember has completely changed! I find myself becoming more of an introvert and pulling in to avoid repeating myself by answering everybody’s same questions. Don’t misunderstand me, I love meeting people and swapping stories of the lives we’ve lived, ministry moments, and missions. The phrase I hear all too often is, “That is so great. I wish I could do that.” I want to shake them by the shoulders and say, “You can!!!” If an 18 year old can go for a few weeks (or years), please consider taking a week and go evangelize! You don’t even have to leave the country!

The first week of being back in America was difficult as I fought relaxation and yearned to go and minister to others. God showed me how much I needed to be ministered to and rest in His presence. A few days later I was able to pray for a young girl I met (some of you may have seen my Facebook post.) It was so fulfilling and I was extremely thankful that I had set aside that time for the Lord to re-coop. What an exciting journey ahead of listening to His voice and discovering new things along the way! My heart for missions will never dull and the cry of my heart for more Christians to fulfill the great commission will never be reticent. I am really excited to go to ORU and meet more young adults my age who are crazy about missions and inspire others about God’s work, too!

Thanks for reading,

Ashley

Leave a Reply

