How I Lost 30lbs Accidentally: Photoshop Couldn’t Fix Me

Challenge & Revelation, Life updates

After going from a size 14 to a 6 in less than a year, I started my Junior semester of High School in great shape. As my schedule filled, staying fit became less of a priority. Hanging out with friends every weekend resulted in junk food consumption and I slowly lost my ground. Every summer I’d hop back on the fitness train but it was never truly a priority.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When I moved to South Africa for an internship, I couldn’t drive but was required to work out. I became inventive with what I could use to burn calories: volleyball, swimming, lifting bricks (I’m serious!) and what I absolutely despised: running. My commitment was on and off and I became bored and unmotivated. Discipline was dwindling and as the year drew to a close, I became more homesick. Homesickness resulted in snacking on popcorn and Nutella which resulted in a pretty significant weight gain.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Working out at a gym every day during Christmas break, I developed habits and routines to help me stick to it when I went back overseas. Discipline began to decline once again 3 months in as I became busier and less active; I started to put weight back on again. This did nothing for my confidence. I could Photoshop my hardest for those photos on Facebook, but I couldn’t hide how gross I felt at times. I was craving an outlet of control and was using food verses working out.

Tune in next week to see how I accidentally lost 30 pounds and how I’m keeping it off!

Leave a Reply

